Lifestyle

My Top 7 Favourite Books of all Time! (Part 3)

Welcome to the final installment of the 3 Part series of my Top 7 Favourite Books of All Time! Thank you for joining me on this journey. Parts 1 and 2 included some oldies-but-goodies, as well as some contemporary classics which often had some semblance of historical facts interwoven in each. In this final installment, you will see one of my favourite tear-jerking work of fiction to round out the Top 7 list. Homage has been paid to this great work so many times both in literature as well as in movies.  There’s no need to hang on with bated breath any longer…I may even throw in a few Honourable Mentions in the mix (you know I wouldn’t leave you hanging)…

 

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

As I’m sure you can tell, I’m into books that deal with some aspects of history and some semblance of spiritual self-realization. Fictional books were never really my thing. You’d have to be a really exceptional writer to grab my attention with a work of fiction.  Who other could do so than the great Jane Austen! Besides from reading the book, I must have watched almost every movie remake even the Bollywood versions and parody versions.

The words appear to waltz on the page as you glide to each thrilling scene filled with intense emotion. It is the quintessential girl book. Who didn’t dream of Mr. Darcy– that aloof, stoic gentleman who you know had a brooding heart filled with love. Many woman could identify with Elizabeth– strong-willed, intelligent, and at the same time vulnerable. Both characters beg the question as to which character was the Proud and which was the Prejudice– or maybe it was both. I leave it to you to decide. Women of all ages should read this beguiling manuscript to not only renew their faith in love but to be reminded themselves of their strength as a woman. Men should read it to find out what women really want in a man…hint, hint…

 

Finding the Joy Within You: Personal Counsel for God-Centered Living by Sri Daya Mata

 

Every time I read any paragraph of this book I get a sense of calm. Published in 1990, American Sri Daya Mata is a disciple of Paramahansa Yogananda- a well-known spiritual figure and author of another good read Autobiography of a Yogi. This books provides guidance in almost all areas of ones life ranging from managing personal relationships and even child rearing. The premise of this book deems that persons can and should have communion with God as that is the source of true love and peace.

“God gave us human relationships in various forms for one reason: we are to learn from one another. Everyone is in a sense our ‘guru’, our teacher. … From all these relationships we acquire an expansion and purification of our love; and I believe that, in the ultimate sense, only love can change others.”

Sri Daya Mata, Finding the Joy Within You: Personal Counsel for God-Centered Living

 

The Essential Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson

BIll Watterson made my childhood….I don’t know where I’d be without the laughs I got from Calvin and his antics with his tiger/best friend Hobbes. I just happened to stroll on some collectors books that my grandmother was giving away for friend  which eventually become mine. Though the comic stars a child and a stuffed tiger that comes to life only around Calvin, technically it is written for mature audiences (which explains why I had to use the dictionary to learn some of those big words Calvin used). This book is a treasure and I implore you to find it…why so serious?

 

Photo Credit (s):
Featured Image- http://www.thedailybeast.com, Pride & Prejudice– brumshiretales.wordpress.com, Finding the Joy Within You: Personal Counsel for God Centered Living– bookstore.yogananda-srf.org, The Essential Calvin & Hobbes– goodreads.com
Leave a Reply

