Inspirational · Life Lessons

The Dream that led me to ‘The Alchemist’

About a month ago, I had the most vivid dream of my life. In summary, I entered a large room and in the centre of that room was a huge pyramid made of gold bricks. Strange enough, Jeremy Irons was on top of a ladder leaning on the pyramid. He pointed to an empty space at the pinnacle and with much urgency kept saying ‘Look, Newton’s Stone is here. Look!’. With a sharp gasp of breath I instantly woke up.

After a few days I said ‘what the heck’ and Googled what this Newton’s Stone was. I discovered that this item was another name for The Philosopher’s Stone‘Great’ I thought, ‘I’m channeling a Harry Potter Book‘. Nonetheless, I sought more information as I was naturally intrigued that there was actual information on this mythical object. I watched some documentaries. Apparently, this stone was a legendary alchemical substance that could turn base metals into gold. Issac Newton was said to be in search of creating the item. Interesting stuff. So ended my research… or so I thought.

Over the course of a few weeks after I kept seeing the book called ‘The Alchemist’ everywhere – on social media, in my office, everywhere. Figuring that this may be the universe trying to tell me something I decided to continue with my investigation. After all, my dream was about gold and alchemy right?

TheAlchemist.jpg
First English edition cover

I found out that the book was famous and that it was one of the top-selling books in history. It was written by Brazilian author Paulo Coelho  in the late 1980’s and was about a “young Andalusian shepherd in his journey to Egypt, after having a recurring dream of finding treasure there”. I wasn’t too intrigued as I’m not particularly a fan of fiction. However, what I did find interesting was that Coehlo wrote the book in two weeks and said that his pace was due to the fact that it was “already written in [his] soul”. ‘How inspiring’, I thought. Another week passed and signs of the book kept popping up…so again I relented made an attempt to seek it out for reading. Instead, I found an audio book version that lasted over 2 hours. I figured that it wouldn’t be a complete waste of my time.

Now, I don’t want to give too much away, but I was almost instantaneously captivated. It was so transcendent. Definitely now one of my top five faves. It almost seemed as if it was written for me as it answered so many questions I had throughout my lifetime. I see now that God had meant for me to read it.

“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

– Paula Coelho, The Alchemist (1988)

I don’t want to ruin the story for you, I simply urge you to read it for yourself. Or if you’re feeling a bit lazy or strapped for time like I was, you can click here for the audio book version.

Nothing happens by accident. You’re not reading this article by accident. This book will open your soul in ways you could never imagine. I did for me and it all started with a dream. I implore you to read it and not ignore the signs to your own destiny. Good luck.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Dream that led me to ‘The Alchemist’

  1. Bonjour Gizelle,

    Totally stoked by your article! You’re right nothing really happens by accident. It’s weird. I was reading blogloving sharing about posts “developing creativity” so I read yours and checked your blog out. Landed on this post about The Alchemist. Exactly yesterday, I was posting on Facebook about how this book inspired me, and (still) feeds my soul, especially because everyone can read it. It’s ‘easy’ reading. I think it’s another asset of this book. When I find myself discouraged on my life journey, I pick a book that had a huge impact on me, it’s one of them. Thank you for the confirmation!
    I’m also from the Caribbean, the French island of Martinique. On my way to be a travel blogger. It’s a way to keeping up to be the best version of myself. Much love from Paris, I’d be glad to get in touch. Emma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Emma! I’m so thrilled to see the universe at work! So amazing. You don’t know how happy I am to see your comment, especially from another Caribbean chica. Haven’t been to Martinque but I hear it’s beautiful 🙂 I’d love to keep it touch! p.s. love your site

      Like

Leave a Reply

